The temple has its origins in a small chapel where it venerated the Virgin of Cosamaloapan. In 1734 began building a convent
The temple has its origins in a small chapel where it venerated the Virgin of Cosamaloapan.
In 1734 began building a convent to house the Sisters of Santa Clara de Asis. Three years after the site was occupied by a community of nuns and daughters of the chieftains of the place and daughters of the main indigenous of Michoacan.
The architecture of the temple is unique in the city because the facade, slender and finished off with a large piñon, it is not double cover, which was an indication that belonged to religious. The window of the choir is a niche with a sculpture in the center. The baroque style is popular. A fire in the temple ended with the main altar but they were able to rescue three others of Churrigueresque style. Only here and in the Temple of las Rosas are preserved original altarpieces of the eighteenth century. Its tower stands out between the towers of the city.
In 1901 the convent was demolished and constructed a building for government offices.
Opposite the church appreciates the plazuela Vasco de Quiroga known as Jardin de Capuchinas.