The Templo de la Compañia de Jesus is without a doubt one of the most beautiful churches in the city. Its facade has
The Templo de la Compañia de Jesus is without a doubt one of the most beautiful churches in the city. Its facade has the appearance of a beautiful building decorated with white lace. It was edified towards the latter part of the 16th century when the Jesuits arrived to the city and established five schools for the teaching of Spaniards and Indigenous. The temple is one of the most important of Mexico, due to the fact that there are only two Jesuit temples that were built in the 18th century, and of this great magnitude. The facade consists of two parts: the first is made of stone and forms a portico with three openings in front, pilasters, brackets, pads, panels, niches, medallions and rare plant motifs. At the entrance, there is a Talavera plate that recounts: In the main arch of the facade, the head of Don Antonio de Benavides (El Tapatio) was hung by order of the inquisition, false visitor from Spain, executed on July 12, 1684. Inside, the altar is very important, on which is a statue of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, a marble altarpiece, and behind that carved in stone the 12 Apostles. It is noteworthy to mention that in this church is the grave of Catarina de San Juan, better known as the China Poblana.