Shortly after settling in Oaxaca, the Augustinians began building the Templo de San Agustin around 1580, which was consecrated
Shortly after settling in Oaxaca, the Augustinians began building the Templo de San Agustin around 1580, which was consecrated in 1586.
The monastery apparently was completed in 1699, according to an inscription written on a medallion on the facade, which also indicates a restoration of the temple, both being blessed in 1722.
This temple is the widest church in the city. Since its construction, it has characteristically lacked a dome and bell towers to prevent damage from earthquakes.
It is an outstanding example of the architecture in Oaxaca, combining volume with the elegance of its interior, innovative construction, and the fine elaboration of its facades and altarpieces.
In 1860 the convent vacated the building, and shortly after the Institute of Science and Arts of Oaxaca moved in.
But there was much deterioration, to the degree of having to be virtually rebuilt by Archbishop Gillow for the purpose of founding the Casa de Cuna in 1893, which remains in operation up to today.